What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme is also called the NDIS.

The NDIS is a new way for people with disability under the age of 65 to get the care and supports they need to live a better life.

The NDIS recognises that everyone is different and gives people with disability choice and flexibility about the type of support they need, when they need it and who provides that support.

By 2019, the NDIS will support about 460,000 Australians with disability.

How can NDIS help you?

The life of each person with disability is different, so the support will be different for each person. If you are eligible for the NDIS, you will have a plan developed that says what is important to you, your goals and the care and support you need to achieve them.  The NDIS will provide funding for the supports that are written in your plan.


Who does the NDIS fund? When you are approved for the NDIS, the NDIS will fund supports that are “reasonable and necessary” for you to live an ordinary life.

For a support to be funded it needs to be linked to an outcome identified in your plan.

There are three types of support:

  • Core (Day to-day living and activities that increase your social or economic participation)
  • Capital (A resource or piece of equipment, or home modification)
  • Capacity Building (help you build the skills you need to live the life you want, such as opportunities to work, further your education, volunteer or learn something new.)

How can I get involved?

If you are thinking about applying for NDIS support, please download the Carers Support Manual below.  We have put together lots of information in the manual and are happy to assist with any questions you might have.

For more information on NDIS please see ndis.org.au

Who is eligible for NDIS funding?

To become an NDIS participant a person must:

  • Have a permanent disability that significantly affects their ability to take part in everyday activities;
  • Be aged less than 65 when they first enter the NDIS;
  • Be an Australian citizen or hold a permanent visa or a Protected Special Category visa; and
  • Live in Australia where the NDIS is available.

You can find out more information in the NDIS Carer Resource Manual below.


How do NDIS and Interchange Gippsland work together?” Interchange Gippsland is proud to be a registered service provider under the NDIS. We can provide you with a variety of high-quality support services in the Latrobe City, Bass Coast, South Gippsland and Baw Baw Shire areas, including:

  • Doing fun activities with friends
  • Feeling part of the community
  • Learning skills to live independently
  • Self care for carers and participants (respite)
  • Communication skills
  • Support Coordination

Speak to one of our staff today to find out how we can support you / the person your care for.  We can also help with the NDIS planning processes.

As a registered provider, Interchange Gippsland uses the current NDIS Price Guide including the Temporary Transformation Payment (TPP). All prices for NDIS supports, provided by Interchange Gippsland, are subject to change as per the NDIS Price Guide, which is set by the NDIA.

NDIS Provider registration number: 4050008478

What is TTP Pricing?

The NDIA have introduced the Temporary Transformation Payment (TTP) in the price guide for 2019 – 20. This replaced the Temporary Support for Overheads. From 1st July 2021, providers of attendant care and community centre-based activities that meet eligibility can charge a higher support price limit.

Interchange Gippsland has to follow some rules set out by the NDIA in order to charge the TTP. You can read more about these requirements in the 2021-2022 NDIS Pricing Arrangements and Price Limits (previously NDIS Price Guide)

Interchange Gippsland is eligible and charge TTP pricing to a range of support categories. This includes daily personal activities, participation in community, social and civic activities and others. If you would like to learn more about TTP prices, there is a list in the 2021-2022 NDIS Pricing Arrangements and Price Limits that identifies all the support categories that TTP is applicable too.